Count your Blessings

Its once again been a long time since I posted. This is actually the first time I haven’t posted anything in over 30 days, something that I had aimed to do. For some reason I am in a head space right now where I don’t feel like doing anything. So I have spent the last 2-3 weeks watching TV and just doing nothing. Today, I mixed it up with YouTube videos, and after a long time heard one of my favourite songs, I Lived by One Republic. If you YouTube the song, one of the official videos has a story about a boy suffering from a crippling disease and how he continues to fight for his right to live, not just exist. That got me thinking, in all my self-pity and ‘poor me’ thoughts, I sometimes forget how lucky I am. So that’s what I am going to do in this blog, I am going to count my blessings. Well not all, but the main big ones.

1. I am healthy: I have full control over all my body parts, I have all my limbs and am not on any permanent medication or treatment. In fact the worst injury I have had is a hair line fracture
2. I have a family who loves me: I have a family who loves me for who I am, a stubborn silly and downright annoying person
3. I have friends I can swear by: I have only a handful of friends, but they are ones I can swear by. I can say with surety that the day I need them and call them, they will be there for me. I can trust them with my life, they are part of my family
4. I have a good education: I have grown up with the best education my parents could provide me. I have had the opportunity to explore my interests and study what I wanted to. I have had the privilege to develop an understanding of different cultures and thought processes. I am proficient in two languages!
5. I have a career: I am a woman, living in a ‘third world’ country and not only do I have a good education but I have a career of my choice.
6. I am financially independent: I have a permanent job, yes, I earn my own money and I spend it the way I deem fit! I don’t have to come home and hand over my money to the man of the house.
7. I am financially stable: not only am I financially independent but I also earn enough to support myself and my family every day. I don’t have to go hungry, I have good clothes on my back and a comfortable house and bed to sleep in. my family owns a car
8. I live in a free country: I live in an independent country that is not completely riddled with poverty and disease! I live in a country where I have rights as a woman (the debate on whether they are upheld or not is a separate matter) and as a human being. I live in a country that thus far I have found no reason to flee from
9. I have the freedom to choose my life partner: Once again, I am a woman in a ‘third world’ country, with a conservative religious background. Yet I have the freedom to choose my own life partner and have my parents support for it
10. I have hobbies and interests: I have a permanent job, but I also have other interests and hobbies, which I pursue regularly. I have time to spend doing what I love, reading, poetry, trekking, painting etc. My life is not consumed by my work or the need to earn money.

Come to think of it, these are pretty basic things. Things that we (those with access to the internet and this blog) take almost for granted. But just take a moment and think about this. if you evaluate how many of the now 7 billion people on this earth can claim all of these 10 things, you will find the number much smaller!

I guess my point is that it is very easy to focus on the bad and forget about the good, it is easy to take the good for granted. But its important to acknowledge it, to appreciate what you have. There is a hymn, that says: “Count your blessings, name them one by one… Count your blessings, every doubt will fly and you will be singing as the days go by” So go on, count your blessing and appreciate what you have in life.

One thought on “Count your Blessings

Leave a Reply

