I woke up today with a smile

 

I woke up today with a smile;

Well rested, happy to be alive;

I have come a long way from where I began;

A long way since when I first ran;

 

I have shed some of my self- doubt, jealousy and hate;

Along with a lot of my weight;

I let go of some of my baggage;

Let go of stuff that was doing damage;

 

They say this is me growing up;

That I have finally wizened up;

All I know is that I am happier than I have ever been;

I am finally comfortable in my own skin;

 

Make no mistake; the scars are still there;

They will always be my burdens to bear;

But, today I smile and laugh as I please;

Today my heart is genuinely at peace;

 

A day may come when the doubts return;

When I once again feel that familiar burn;

But that day I will not cringe and retreat in fright;

Instead, I promise to stand tall and fight.

 -by:

Akshita Misra

 

Leave a Reply

